MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING PERU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT 124 NOVEMBER 8, 2024, 11:00 AM

CALL TO ORDER

The special meeting of the month of November of the Board of Education of Peru Elementary School District 124, LaSalle County, Illinois, was called to order in the Conference Room at Parkside Middle School by Board President Patti Leynaud on Friday, November 8, 2024, at 11:00 a.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

President Leynaud led the Board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL

PRESENT: Members Rob Ankiewicz, Josanne Bruins, Simon Kampwerth, Austin Taylor, and President Patti Leynaud. ABSENT: Members John Atkins and Alison Goode.

OTHERS PRESENT: Superintendent Jamie Craven, Board Secretary Megan Baltikauski, Mr. Brent Ziegler, Mr. Wes Miller, Ms. Nicole Bruen, and Mr. Brandon Lucas.

MOTION: Moved by Member Ankiewicz, seconded by Josanne Bruins to approve the special meeting agenda of September 8, 2024. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Ankiewicz, Bruins, Leynaud, Kampwerth, and Taylor. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 5-0.**

PUBLIC COMMENT, CORRESPONDENCE AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

There was no public comment, correspondence or announcements at this time.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

MOTION: Moved by Member Kampwerth, seconded by Member Ankiewicz, to adjourn to Executive Session at 11:03 a.m. for the purpose of student discipline, appointment employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of personnel, pending litigation, or other exceptions to the Open Meetings Act. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Kampwerth, Ankiewicz, Bruins, Taylor, and Leynaud. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 5-0.**

RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION

MOTION: Moved by Bruins, seconded by Taylor, to return to Regular Session at 12:27 p.m. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Bruins, Taylor, Leynaud, Kampwerth, and Ankiewicz. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 5-0**.

ACTION ITEMS AFTER EXECUTIVE SESSION Approval of Student Discipline

MOTION: Moved by Member Kampwerth, seconded by Member Taylor to approve the recommendation to expel "Student A" from Peru Elementary School District for the remainder of the 2024-2025 school year. AYE 5, Nay 0. **The motion carried 5-0.**

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Moved by Member Bruins, seconded by Member Ankiewicz, to adjourn at 12:29 p.m. AYE 5, NAY 0. **The motion carried 5-0.**

Patti Leynaud, Board President

Megan Baltikauski, Board Secretary